Skip to main content

MMFF 2017 Entries and Awards: Recap

Last year's MMFF made minor changes in the criteria of choosing the 8 official entries to be shown and awarding. This year's criteria changed again and the final 8 official entries were thoroughly studied and selected based on the newest criteria. 

Seel lists below for the chosen 8 full lengths and 8 short films entries on the 43rd edition of the Metro Manila Film Festival

Official Entries


All of You

Jennylyn Mercado, Derek Ramsay
Quantum Films, MJM Productions
Directed by Dan Villegas
Romance, Comedy

Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad
Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla, Pia Wurtzbach
Star Cinema, Viva Films
Directed by Joyce Bernal
Action, Comedy

Meant to Beh
Vic Sotto, Dawn Zulueta
OctoArts Films, M-Zet Productions, APT Entertainment
Directed by Chris Martinez
Family Comedy

Ang Panday
Coco Martin
CCM Productions
Star Cinema, Viva Films
Directed by Rodel Nacianceno
Action, Fantasy

Deadma Walking
Joross Gamboa, Edgar Allan Guzman
T-Rex Entertainment
Directed by Julius Alfonso
Comedy, Drama, Musical

Haunted Forest
Jane Oineza, Jameson Blake, Maris Racal, Jon Lucas
Regal Entertainment
Directed by Ian LoreƱos
Horror, Thriller

Ang Larawan
Rachel Alejandro, Paulo Avelino, Joanna Ampil
Culturtain Musicat Productions
Directed by Loy Arcenas

Jericho Rosales, Erich Gonzales, Jasmine Curtis-Smith
Ten17 Productions
Directed by Paul Soriano
Romance, Drama

Short Films

Anino - Malaya Ad Castillo

Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante? – Brian Spencer Reyes

Black Market – Gio Gonzalves

Crab Mental – Joaquin Bamba

Gunita – Ryceanne Marie Manlulu

Isang Gabi – Gio Gonzalves

Kinalimutan Natin ang mga Bata – Gilb Baldoza

Noel – Win Gonzales


MMFF awards night (Gabi ng Parangal was held at Kia theater on December 27, 2017.
Winners are listed below.

Best Picture - Ang Larawan (Culturtain Musicat Productions)

Best Director - Paul Soriano (Siargao)

Best Actor - Derek Ramsay (All of You)

Best Actress - Joanna Ampil (Ang Larawan)

Best Supporting Actor - Edgar Allan Guzman (Deadma Walking)

Best Supporting Actress - Jasmine Curtis-Smith (Siargao)

Best Screenplay - All of You

Best Child Performer - Baby Baste (Meant to Beh)

Best Cinematography - Odyssey Flores, Siargao

Best Sound - Siargao

Best Theme Song - "Alon" by Hale (Siargao)

Best Editing - Siargao

Best Visual Effects - Ang Panday

Best Musical Score -  Ang Larawan

Best Production Design - Gino Gonzales (Ang Larawan)

Best Float - Deadma Walking

Children’s Choice Award - And Panday

People's Choice Award - Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad

Special Awards

First Special Jury Prize - Nick Joaquin (Ang Larawan)

Second Special Jury Prize - Coco Martin (Ang Panday)

Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award -  Ang Larawan

FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence - Ang Panday

Male Star of the Night - Derek Ramsay

Female Star of the Night - Erich Gonzales

Best Float Award - Deadma Walking

Children's Choice -Ang Panday

People's Choice -The Revenger Squad

Short Film Awards

People's Choice Award - Noel

Best Short Film  -Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante?